Evita
(from May 2013)

"I was hooked on ever word and every note – and on Madalena Alberto, who gives the finest stage performance of the title role I have seen. She makes Evita her own, and you are with her every step of the way as she works her way to becoming the nation’s sweetheart, Alberto bringing out her steely determination and vulnerability in equal measure, with every nuance adding something to her character.
Her rendition of Don’t Cry For Me Argentina is understated to superb effect, while there could hardly have been a dry eye in the house during her mesmerising performance of You Must Love Me, an addition to the stage version after it was written for Madonna for the Evita movie." Gordon Barr. Chronicle Live. (25th February 2014)
+ complete article

"Madalena Alberto does it superbly.
Her voice becomes a languidly woven silver thread stitching herself and Juan together during 'I'd Be Surprisingly Good For You' and plaintively magnetic when the dying Eva tells him 'You Must Love Me.' Crucially, there's nothing maudlin in Alberto's performance, and whatever we think of Eva ethically or politically her self-belief and strength of character is beyond doubt." John McKeown. Irish Independent. (13th February 2014)
+ complete article

"Not only was Alberto's acting exquisite, but her vocal range was truly astounding. Her rendition of the show's touchstone 'Don't Cry For Me Argentina' was mesmerizing, each note pitched to perfection with emotion pourling out of every pore in her body.
She has an effortless purity to her voice that can only be described as enchanting." Jenna Alexander. Scottish Daily Mail. (31st January 2014)

"...the performance is overshadowed by that of the leading lady, the incredible and mesmerising Madalena Alberto.
She shines like the brightest star as the plain brunette actress from nowheresville who journeys to the bright lights and high society of Buenos Aires - and ultimately becomes the beautiful, blonde and elegant uncrowned queen of her country - the face of Argentina.
Her voice in impeccable, faultless in the upbeat numbers early on and unbelievably crystal clear and soft at more tender moments too. And, it seems, totally effortless.
Her defining moment - perhaps the show’s defining moment - comes minutes into Act Two - and is worth the entrance fee alone.
High on a balcony, earrings sparkling like diamonds in the sky, blonde hair pulled back and in a stunning white dress, she pauses momentarily, as if savouring the moment, then delivers Evita’s ”signature” song: Don’t Cry For Me Argentina. You could have heard the proverbial pin drop. She had the audience of 1,000-plus in her hands, just as she had her nation, of course.
A truly memorable, magical moment." Brad Barnes, Peterborough Telegraph. (31th October 2013)
+ complete article

"Madalena Alberto gave a superb performance as Eva and her transformation from aspiring actress to wife of Peron was captivating." Esp Magazine. (31th October 2013)
+ complete article

"...the standing ovation more than two hours later was prompted more by the whole cast and a terrific central performance by Madalena Alberto as Eva.
...Alberto, though, is quite rightly the real star and Pellow graciously gives her the room to shine.
To play such a powerful and popular historical figure you need an actress with the personality and confidence to command the stage. Alberto, who has a tremendous singing voice, ticks all the boxes. Her voice reverberated around the venue and the obvious crowd-pleaser – Don’t Cry For Me Argentina – was movingly delivered." Andrew Lees, The Sentinel. (22th October 2013)
+ complete article

"But for me it was Eva played by Lisbon born Madalena Alberto who stole the show. She brought meaning to making an audience so silent a pin drop could be heard as her final moments were depicted in the ballad You Must Love Me and Eva’s Final Broadcast." Tara Russell, Southern Daily Echo. (15th October 2013)
+ complete article

"...but the material only reaches its full potential with a truly talented actress playing Eva Peron. Madalena Alberto was spectacular. Her singing was faultless, and her acting, particularly towards the final scenes depicting Eva’s descent into critical illness, was arresting." Rebecca James, The Edge. (15th October 2013)
+ complete article

"Madalena Alberto is brilliant in the part singing her way from ”bedroom to saint” , rousing the people with “A New Argentine” and stopping the show with the heartbreaking ‘Don’t Cry for me Argentina’." Anne Hailes, Belfast Times. (7th September 2013)
+ complete article

"Madalena Alberto captures every single emotion her character experiences and projects it into the hearts of every member of the audience, making you feel as though you are the only one witnessing it and during her final scenes there was not a dry eye in the house." Nicole Evans, The Public Reviews. (21st August 2013)
+ complete article

"...the evening really did belong to Portuguese song bird, the engaging Madalena Alberto as Eva, whose passionate performance took the theatre by storm. Her portrayal of arguably the best song in the show, You Must Love Me, reaches deep into the soul and offers a snapshot of just how fragile life is." Tim Spiers, Express & Star. (21st August 2013)
+ complete article

"While Pellow is the big name in the show, Portuguese-born Madelena Alberto gives a memorable performance as Eva Peron, the attractive young girl who sleeps her way up the social ladder, becomes an actress and marries Juan Peron, convincing the army officer she can help his rise to power. And she succeeds." Gary Young, Birmingham Mail. (21st August 2013)
+ complete article

"The show however belongs to Madalena Alberto who really does capture every moment of Perón's short life with effortless conviction. From the steamy and fast paced partying in Buenos Aires to the tender, fragile final moments upon her deathbed. Incredibly strong and stunning vocal throughout particularly her rendition of 'Don't Cry For Me Argentina' received a rather loud "wow" from the lady next to me who then apologised for her uncontrollable outburst." Scott Bird Theatre Blog.(21st August 2013)
+ complete article

"The real star of the show though, is undoubtedly Portugese singer-actress Madalena Alberto, who gives an utterly astonishing and transformative turn in the titular lead role. Eva Perón is quite rightly one of musical theatres’ most prestigious and coveted roles, and Alberto acquits herself here with phenomenal control and confidence. It is a character which demands a huge deal of discipline and talent from any performer - singing, dancing, the taking on of some now-iconic signature numbers, and not least of all the extraordinary timespan, journey, evolution and eventually decay that the character experiences over the course of the show, with Alberto consistently faultless and downright mesmerising across-the-board. Breathtaking, powerful vocals met with a physical ownership of the role that are both as genuinely impressive as any who have taken on the role before her (yes, including the likes of Elaine Paige and Patti Lupone), if for no other reason you go and see Evita, do so to experience what is genuinely one of the most brilliant and breathtaking female performances in musical theatre you will have the pleasure of experiencing, be it on tour, in the West End or beyond." Kyle Pedley, (A)musings. (21st August 2013)
+ complete article

"But what is also clear is that Madalena Alberto is a major talent. Her performance is the engine of this production. You want to applaud and cheer everything she does but don’t want it to seem like you are condoning Eva’s actions. [...] It was gratifying to hear, when we were filing out of the auditorium that people were singing the praises of Madalena Alberto rather than the character she so powerfully portrays." William Stafford, Views from a Bum. (21st August 2013)
+ complete article

"It’s hard to follow in the footsteps of Madonna, of Covington and of Paige, and to emulate what has gone before would be a mistake. Madalena Alberto as Evita is a triumph. How do you make a role like that all of your own? Alberto has found nuances within the character which bring new meaning to the well-known hits, and her voice is sensational. She hits the high notes and soars from the get-go. It wouldn’t even be the tiniest bit verbose to say Alberto is a sensation." Lucia Cox, Northern Soul. (31th July 2013)
+ complete article

"The highlight of this production was by far Madalena Alberto in the title role of Eva Peron. Admittedly, I had a few doubts about her ability to pull off such a diverse role when she first appeared onstage (‘Eva Beware of the City’), however once the small town girl left Junín and hit the Big Apple (‘Buenos Aires’), Alberto’s ability to portray the patron saint of ambition shone as she powered through the high energy dance number.
From there the only way was up, as Alberto ran the gamut from ambitious to fanatical (‘A New Argentina’) to frail (‘You Must Love Me) with frightening ease. By the time Eva began her descent into the grave, we were hooked as Alberto literally broke down on stage. There wasn’t a dry eye in the house.
Of an array of musical numbers, the actress impressed most with the musicals signature tune, ‘Don’t Cry for Me Argentina’. A number which has come to define the show, it is notoriously hard to pull off the emotive honesty needed to bring it to life. Alberto, standing on an impressive representation of the balcony of the Casa Rosada, laid her soul bare and did this iconic number true justice.
Although the rest of the cast matched her, this musical is supposed to centre on Evita, if she doesn’t shine, it all falls flat. This production saw Alberto take this role and redefine it for a modern audience." Chic Lifestyle Magazine. (30th July 2013)
+ complete article

"...But all that is about to change, after word gets out as to just how utterly brilliant Madalena Alberto is as the girl from the back streets who becomes wife to a president.
I can’t for the life of me remember a singing voice so pure and the hairs on the back of my neck stood up when she performed one of the show’s most famous numbers, Don’t Cry For Me Argentina.
Alberto’s acting is equally impressive and watching Eva slowly die on stage was a painful and moving experience. " Rick Bowen, Messenger. (31th July 2013)
+ complete article

"Madalena Alberto shines as Eva, shifting beautifully from the flirty adolescent we first meet to the frail and sickly first lady of Argentina with grace and style. Alberto’s voice is exceptional; she plays this role perfectly, full of ambition and fun, she transforms herself throughout the show to become a proud and dedicated first lady, loyal to her husband Peron and fiercely proud of her homeland Argentina.
[...]
But it’s leading lady Madalena Alberto who steals the show with her spine-tingling performance of the legendary Don’t Cry For Me Argentina. Her physical transformation is equally impressive; she appears to visibly shrink for Eva’s final days. While there were clearly many Wet, Wet, Wet fans in the audience its Alberto who receives the more than deserved standing ovation." Nikki Cotter, Manchester's Finest. (31th July 2013)
+ complete article

"The blissful sound of Madalena Alberto’s voice as she sang the iconic Don’t Cry For Me Argentina on the balcony of the Casa Rosada sent shivers down my spine.
Stealing the show as the leading lady Eva, the social-climbing actress who grows from a young woman into a fierce politician’s wife, only one word can describe this performance and that is breathtaking." Amy Smith, Diss Express. (18th July 2013)
+ complete article

"And the night belongs to Madalena Alberto whose portrayal of Eva is simply superb. From the carefree days of a small town upbringing, to the glamour of Buenos Aries and then eventual demise, this is a role she relishes with stunning precision." Alan Powell, The Epworth Bells. (4th July 2013)
+ complete article

"...but the biggest cheer of the night was reserved for the woman who made Eva Peron even larger than life than she could have been. As the jaw-dropping execution of her work was appreciated fully, Madalena Alberto stood on the shoulders of giants of the musical theatre world. This should be considered as one of the most outstanding performances ever captured by one woman on the Empire stage." Ian D Hall, Liverpool Sound and Vision. (24th June 2013)
+ complete article

"Madalena Alberto shone as the true star of the show as she sung her way through with flawless vocals.
Her knock-out debut performance playing Evita portrayed the feisty character with intelligence, ambition and spirit and left the audience wondering whether she truly was a power hungry actress or the voice of her people.
[...]
An obvious hit with the audience, Madalena Alberto's performance of 'Don't Cry for Me Argentina' was chillingly beautiful, sung with conviction and looking every inch the 'saint' the people of Argentina painted her to be in a glittering white ball gown and sparkling jewels." Rachael Bentham, Liverpol Daily Post. (25th June 2013)
+ complete article

"But it’s leading lady Madalena Alberto who steals the show with crystal clear vocals – and a spine-tingling performance of the iconic Don’t Cry For Me Argentina.
Just as impressive is her physical transformation, the petite actress changing with ease from young woman to ruthless politician’s wife – and appearing to visibly shrink for Eva’s final days." Lorna Hughes, Liverpol Echo. (25th June 2013)
+ complete article

"The role of Eva is played by Lisbon-born Madalena Alberto whose future is sure to bring her more leading roles. The powerful, and sometime shouty, voice of the Portuguese newcomer had a real theatrical quality about it and it brought the iconic Don’t Cry For Me Argentina to life.
She also reminded me of theatre land’s leading lady Elaine Paige who debuted the role of Eva on stage back in 1978, a full two years after pop princess Julie Covington had topped the UK singles charts with the song following the launch of the pre-show album.
Miss Alberto fully deserved her standing ovation at the final curtain, having given her all in a part which portrays Eva from her humble beginnings through to her rapid rise and extraordinary saint-like status prior to her untimely death from cancer in 1952 at the age of just 33." Alan Wooding, Biggleswade Today. (23rd May 2013)
+ complete article

"Portuguese actress and singer, Madalena Alberto, kicks off the performance in a flowery girlish frock, her locks lustrous brunette.
‘They need to adore me, so Christian Dior me,’ she trills as she is power-dressed to thrill, and the wardrobe department has taken Tim Rice’s terrific lyrics literally. And with every determined step up the ladder, her dresses get sharper, more Hollywood, until, at her peak, she’s a vision of Grace Kelly glamour, all platinum hair, a shimmering white gown, and dripping with diamonds. Evita was surely one of the first politicians to grasp that politics isn’t a world away from showbiz.
Her power to transform herself is matched only by her power to seduce. ‘I’d be surprisingly good for you,’ she whispers flirtily, even a bit dirtily, in the ear of Mark Heenehan’s towering, rather wooden Peron who she quickly elbows into the shadows. But she seduces us all too: when, at the curtain call, the audience sprang to its feet as one, it was principally for her." Georgina Brown, The Lady (30th May 2013)
+ complete article

"But the spotlight must rightly remain on Madalena Alberto as Eva. Her voice had a beautiful quality; raising hairs on the back of the neck more than once. Vocal control was superb and particularly impressive during the dance sequences (which she appeared to relish). She balanced the (sometimes cold) ambition of Eva with her passion for the people of Argentina to ensure that the audience were ready to shed a tear upon her death … and they leapt to their feet in ovation for her curtain call." Cameron Lowe, UK Theatre Network (5th June 2013)
+ complete article

"Madalena Alberto was perfectly cast in the role of Eva Peron and gave an outstanding performance. Her acting skills managed to equal her incredible musical talent and she received a well deserved standing ovation at the end. Definitely one to watch, I can't remember the last time I was this blown away by a performer! Credit also has to go to the make-up department for the convincing aging of Eva Peron throughout the show." Natalie O'Donoghue, Broadwayworld Scotland (4th June 2013)
+ complete article

"Portuguese-born actress and singer Madalena Alberto is mesmerising in the title role, bringing to the part a totally convincing mix of ruthless ambition and physical frailty, topped by a voice of compelling clarity.
I was literally on my seat to catch every note during her quieter numbers.
There’s a totally believable chemistry, and a lovely vocal match between her and Peron, played with great wit by Mark Heenehan." Hannah Richardson, Buckingham Today (25th May 2013)
+ complete article

"As Eva, Lisbon-born Madalena Alberto combines a strong singing voice with real acting authority, making the transition from wannabe actress to Argentina's iconic power-dressed first lady with great ease.
As the cancer that killed the real Eva at 33 crawls through her she visibly ages before our eyes.
Her final moments, depicted in the ballad You Must Love Me and Eva's Final Broadcast, are choked with emotion." Neil Norman, The Daily Express (24th May 2013)
+ complete article

"As for the leading lady, Madalena was simply ravishing as she transformed from a bright-eyed ambitious teen into the political leader that went down in history.
To me, her voice is indescribable and Madalena does an incredible job of making the audience fall in love with her, despite her controversial and somewhat difficult character.
Her breathtaking performances are a pure delight to witness. I was completely blown away by her " Amanda Devlin, Dunstable Today (24th May 2013)
+ complete article

"The real star of this version of Evita is the lovely lady playing the lead. She’s called Madalena Alberto and I have to admit that the name meant nothing to me. But she’s done the rounds with Les Mis, Godspell, Fame, Chicago etc She’s a tiny dynamo of a woman with the most sensational voice. Her rendition of Don’t Cry For Me Argentina is breathtaking." Anne Cox, Leighton Buzzard Observer (23rd May 2013)
+ complete article

"Madalena Alberto gives a stunning performance as Evita. Her singing voice is superb, she moves with all the sexy flamboyance of a Latin American dancer and she plays the story of the girl from Hicksville who, shortly before her death was proclaimed ‘Spiritual Chief of the Nation, with impressive truth and sensitivity.
Evita was the part that launched Elaine Paige’s career into the stratosphere; on the basis of this performance, Madalena Alberto deserves a similar flight trajectory." Judy Riley, MKWeb (22nd May 2013)
+ complete article

"The title role of Evita, Eva Peron, is played by Madalena Alberto. It’s a rollercoaster of a journey for any actress, which tells the life story of an extraordinary woman. Alberto rises to the challenge with skill, emotion and raw passion for her art, resulting in an evocative and breaking performance." Steven Gordon-Wilson, Showtime on MKFM.com (22nd May 2013)
+ complete article

"Evita tour allows Alberto to shine
[...]This time around Evita could be the making of another ‘unknown’ (or at least to a mainstream audience), the petite but powerful Portuguese singer Madalena Alberto. Although this little lady from Lisbon has a few hard acts to follow, notably Paige, Patti LuPone (the first to play Eva on Broadway), Marti Webb (who took over in the West End and later starred in a tour in the 1990s), and Elena Roger, who lit up London in 2006 and reprised the part on Broadway six years later, she wouldn’t be far behind any of them.
The standing ovation she won – a proper one, not just a few fans but every member of an enthused audience – was thoroughly well deserved.
[...] But it is Alberto’s show and she makes the very most of a shedload of great songs." Jeremy Chapman, Musical Theatre Review (17th May 2013)
+ complete article

"...and at the heart of the production Madalena Alberto emulates the star quality of the original Eva with ease.
A charismatic actress and an accomplished singer, Alberto has the capacity, like Elena Roger before her, to draw everyone’s attention, and she clearly delights in her prime position in the spotlight. Whether it’s the raucous Buenos Aires of Act I or the emotionally fragile You Must Love Me towards the end of the show, Alberto captures the mood of the moment effortlessly." Catherine Usher, The Stage (17th May 2013)
+ complete article

"...the shining light in this production of Evita is the lead actress Madalena Alberto. She is annoying, charismatic, powerful, sexy and vulnerable." Joe Mott, Daily Star (19th May 2013)
+ complete article

"...the star is Alberto. She is solidly brilliant from start to finish; completely believable, more than the sum of her parts in that there is a clear three-dimesionality to her utterly convincing interpretation of a character who was far from perfect. Alberto's emotional engagement with her character's strengths and weaknesses is very powerful. Her final scenes were out of this world, especially her performance with Heenehan of 'You must Love me', which was deeply moving." Louise Winter, UK Theatre Network (22nd May 2013)
+ complete article

"Madalena Alberto shines in the title role and brings fantastic presence and a stunning vocal to the iconic role. From the first time we notice young Eva at the start of the show right through to her heart-breaking death and lament at the end, Alberto brings a glorious sense of class and poise to the role, which is truly thrilling to watch. After seeing her in the 25th Anniversary Tour of Les Miserables, which safely secured her a place as one of my favourite Fantines, I had very high expectations and she did not disappoint. Her rendition of Don’t Cry for Me Argentina is breath-taking and could easily rival that of powerhouse Elena Roger and even, dare I say it, Elaine Paige." David Coverdale, Bargain Theatreland (17th May 2013)
+ complete article

Jekyll & Hyde (May-June 2012)

"... even more incredible is Madalena Alberto, a Portuguese born songbird who was Fantine in the 25th anniversary tour of Les Miserables that came to the Barbican. Her performance as Lucy here is one of the best sung in London at the moment. It's the role that was originated by Wildhorn's muse (and now former wife) Linda Eder, and Alberto is every bit her vocal equal." Mark Shenton, The Stage
+ complete article

"...a powerhouse performance from Madalena Alberto as Lucy, the hooker with a heart." Lisa Paul, Timeout
+ complete article

"and a powerhouse performance from Madalena Alberto as the doomed tart-with-a-heart." Gary Naylor, Broadwayworld.com
+ complete article

"Powerhouse performances come from Joanna Strand as Jekyll's fiancee, Emma Carew and stunning songstress Madalena Alberto as Hyde's tart Lucy Harris." Shinesquad
+ complete article

"Madalena Alberto performs her character from a mounting hurricane, destroying all that is before her in all her appearances on stage. Her strength and passion did not go unnoticed by the audience on the opening night, who offered big applause after her main numbers, such as "Someone Like You". Madalena sings with extreme sensitivity and skill." todoMUSICALES
+ complete article


Les Misérables 25th Anniversary International Tour
(2009-2010)

"Madalena Alberto [...] played a highly acclaimed and memorable Fantine in the 25th-anniversary touring production of Les Misérables..." - Sunday Telegraph (20th January 2013)

"Quant à Fantine, incarnée par Madalena Alberto, elle fait oblier Susan Boyle dans sa version du fameux I Dreamed a Dream." - Le Figaro review (May, 2010)

"Mais quand Fantine (Madalena Alberto) entonee le tube I Dreamed a Dream, la salle frémit." - Le Parisien review (May, 2010)

"Then came "I Dreamed a Dream" and you can forget Susan Boyle as Madalena Alberto, playing Fantine, delivered her rendition so sweetly, with such purity." - Eastern Daily Press review (February, 2010)

"Madalena Alberto too was fantastic as Fantine whose rendition of I Dreamed a Dream truly made the hairs stand on end." Peter Walsh, Norwich Evening News
+ complete article

"Madalena Alberto’s Fantine was perfect in her gracious misfortune and eventual desperation." Palminder Kaur, Guide 2 Bristol
+ complete article

"Also outstanding was Madalena Alberto as Fantine, her version of 'I Dreamed a Dream' was emotion-laden and brought tears to the eyes." Julian John, South Wales Argus
+ complete article

 



  © 2014 madalenaalberto.com. All rights reserved.